Blue Prism Product

last person joined: yesterday 

Chat about Blue Prism products
Expand all | Collapse all

Comparing two Collections to look for unique values

• 1.  Comparing two Collections to look for unique values

Posted 08-11-2020 13:32
    Hi all!

Hoping for some help. I'm quite new to Blue Prism and development in general so I'm a little stuck.

I'm trying to compare two Collections to determine - Common values in both, Unique Values in Collection 1, and Unique values in Collection 2.

Then take the comparison and put them into three new Collections

I have the common values in both by doing a loop within a loop then a decision stage to say [Collection1.Value]=[Collection2.Value]. If yes, Action stage to add row to new collection, then calculation stage to populate that row with [Collection1.Value]

The trouble comes with the other two sections. I just can't seem to find out the logic for this.

Is there a way to compare two collections to look for unique values in one of them?

------------------------------
    David Wood

• 2.  RE: Comparing two Collections to look for unique values

Posted 08-11-2020 16:32
    If you're looking for values that are in Collection 1 but not Collection 2, then you could use a loop within a loop and use Remove Row to remove values in Collection 1 as they are encountered in Collection 2 (or vice-versa). 

If by unique values you mean values that don't repeat themselves within a single collection, you'll need to use a count to keep track of the number of times a value has appeared, then remove values that occur more than once. (Alternatively, one could write a generic code stage to make this easier.)

Nicholas Zejdlik
    RPA Developer

• 3.  RE: Comparing two Collections to look for unique values

Posted 08-12-2020 04:10
    Hi David - another possibility is to merge the 2 together and then reduce the result down to unique rows - assuming the 2 have the same columns.