cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there any way to modify only one row from a collection without loading it entirely into the code stage?

Jose_LuisCambil
Level 2

Hi there, I'm new to BluePrism and I have an object that uses two collections whose first column is the exact same.

I need to modify the same row of the two collections in every iteration. Those collections' size vary and sometimes they can be 4k-10k rows long. The problem is that the modification of those rows takes a lot of time when that happens.

I already know the exact index of the rows, the program speed down occurs because the code stage that takes and modifies that rows needs to load the entire tables as inputs and outputs. Is there any more efficient way to do this? How can I load into the code stage only the row I want to modify?

Thank you for your time!

4 REPLIES 4

PvD_SE
Level 12

Hi Jose Luis,

On object 'Utility - Collection Manipulation' you'll find action 'Utility - Collection Manipulation':
35339.png...that might do what you need.

Alternatively, if you happen to be looping through the collections anyway, you could change a row value by a calculation stage.

Happy coding!
----------------
Paul
Sweden

Happy coding!
Paul, Sweden
(By all means, do not mark this as the best answer!)

PvD_SE
Level 12

...additionally, when wanting to do something with a collection, or perhaps an XL file: just open the corresponding object in your process and see what actions are in there. In your case of collections, there are several objects each sporting different actions, so you check them all.

Happy coding!
----------------
Paul
Sweden

Happy coding!
Paul, Sweden

Jose_LuisCambil
Level 2

Hi Paul,