cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MS Office2019 vs MSO365 Outlook VBO

AnitaRoberts
Level 2

Hi all,

Our Robot (VMs) are on premise and Outlook is installed locally as an email client, however the Robot mailboxes are in the Azure Cloud.

Outlook VBO with MS Office 2019 works fine for sending emails etc.  However we installed MS O365 onto one of the Robots and the Outlook VBO now gets stuck when sending an email. 

Our third party support support retrieved a 'Microsoft 365 - Outlook VBO' but this requires Blue Prism to be Azure AD registered, an Application ID and a Client ID.  This feels like overkill due to our Blue Prism Application Server, SQL Server and Robots being local i.e. on premise.  The Blue Prism software just needs to interact with the mailbox.

Apologies, I'm not experienced in BP software, we have a third party who support this but they are also unsure whether there is another way to approach this.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Anita

------------------------------
Anita Roberts
Zurich
Zurich
6 REPLIES 6

diane.sanzone
Level 7

Hi Anita,

I can't answer your question directly (sorry), but I can share a bit about my recent experience with the same in hopes it helps.  We, too, have everything on premise.  I have found that using the DX Asset for Outlook 365, we no longer require an outlook client to be installed on the bot workstation.  Since the integration is direct to the Outlook tenant, that additional app registration is required. It allows the bot to properly authenticate in order to interact with the mailbox.  We did get hung up because we had a few older versions of some of the required utilities (the JSON one made a mess of timestamps until we updated that), so if you do move forward with the 365 asset, make sure you update all the prerequisites to the latest version.