cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using APIs in Blue Prism

johwes
Level 4
Hi.

I am fairly new to APIs. I have done the "Using Web APIs in Blue Prism" e-learning at BP University, but was left wanting (quite a bit) more. 
I would love some pointers in the right direction. Suggestions to web-based courses, reading material or topics that I should focus on.
I have been developing in Blue Prism since 2018 but have not used APIs to any real extent. I basically need to read up on APIs and how they work and if possible locate some training/documentation specifically aimed at APIs in Blue Prism. 

------------------------------
Johanna Westlund
RPA developer
Sparebank 1 ØA
/Norway
2 REPLIES 2

EmersonF
MVP
Hey Johanna, see if this helps you
https://www.guru99.com/comparison-between-web-services.html
There is API for numerous purposes, including I think its interest is cool, considering almost 100% of integrations with large systems today are via API such as MS Azure and AWS,

But basically there are SOAP Web Services and REST FULL, it would be a good start to understand how they work, today you can make a process blue prism behave like a SOAP that can be called through an end point, such as this process: it needs to receive some information and assemble a string:34119.pngSo I exposed it on my part of the system and now I can make SOAP calls as I'll show below, passing the pass parameters through the endpoint: http://localhost:8181 /ws/Testing?Wsdl34120.png

Good Study!!

Emerson Ferreira
Sr Business Analyst
Avanade Brasil
+55 (081) 98886-9544
If my answer helped you? Mark as useful!
Sr Cons at Avanade Brazil

lookman
Staff
Staff
Hi Johanna.

Have you looked at the API guide (v6.10 User Guide - Web APIs (blueprism.com)) in the portal? This should help enhance your understanding. Also, are you looking to use web services from external sources in a Blue Prism solution or call a Blue Prism solution from an external source?