cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Comparing two Collections to look for unique values

DavidWood
Level 3
Hi all!

Hoping for some help. I'm quite new to Blue Prism and development in general so I'm a little stuck.

I'm trying to compare two Collections to determine - Common values in both, Unique Values in Collection 1, and Unique values in Collection 2.

Then take the comparison and put them into three new Collections

I have the common values in both by doing a loop within a loop then a decision stage to say [Collection1.Value]=[Collection2.Value]. If yes, Action stage to add row to new collection, then calculation stage to populate that row with [Collection1.Value]

The trouble comes with the other two sections. I just can't seem to find out the logic for this.

Is there a way to compare two collections to look for unique values in one of them?

------------------------------
David Wood
6 REPLIES 6

NicholasZejdlik
Level 9
If you're looking for values that are in Collection 1 but not Collection 2, then you could use a loop within a loop and use Remove Row to remove values in Collection 1 as they are encountered in Collection 2 (or vice-versa). 
339.png

If by unique values you mean values that don't repeat themselves within a single collection, you'll need to use a count to keep track of the number of times a value has appeared, then remove values that occur more than once. (Alternatively, one could write a generic code stage to make this easier.)

Nicholas Zejdlik
RPA Developer

John__Carter
Staff
Staff
Hi David - another possibility is to merge the 2 together and then reduce the result down to unique rows - assuming the 2 have the same columns.