cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Saving Outlook emails

JamesBarrett
Level 4
I was wondering whether anyone has developed an object action to Save emails / Move emails to a network folder? I'll look at trying to create one if not, but I'm not an expert with VBA. The Move Email action within the MAPIEx VBO appears to be limited to moving files to other folders within Outlook. I have heard there may be a potential enhancement to incorporate Save Mail in future, but not sure of timescales. Has anyone developed something already that I could have a look at? Thanks James
18 REPLIES 18

SumanMahato
Level 2
Hi James, Hope you are doing good. I have a process requirement which is similar to this. Where automation need to send a mail and save the mail in a network folder. I have created a BO for outlook operation . In save email operation the first action should be search the mail. The mail sent by automation has an unique case id in the mail subject . In save email action first task is to search the mail. So first i opened the sent mail box in outlook profile then put the unique id in search bar and press enter. the first mail in the list of result will be selected. Next action is to click on the ""save as ""icon in outlook application . When it was clicked an windows dialog box opened. Select the file type as Outlook unicode text and chose a folder. then click on save button. The mail will be saved in the network folder. I will add the BO details once the testing will be completed.

TomBlackburn1
Level 7
If you use the SMTP/POP3 object, you can actually configure and SMTP client to send emails to the filesystem: stackoverflow.com/questions/1264672/how-to-save-mailmessage-object-to-disk-as-eml-or-msg-file

Anonymous
Not applicable