cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Web Application - advice needed with search/drop-down list

RichardLoughins
Level 4
I'm trying to build an action for an object based on a web application, which involves entering values into a search box and extracting results, or alternatively, searching for the value in a drop-down list. Unfortunately I can't seem to automate either method, despite numerous attempts and workarounds. If I enter a value into the search box I need to hit enter otherwise it doesn't register the value. I'm able to get BP to enter the value ok, but no matter what I try, it won't mimic hitting Enter. I've tried using Global send keys but this hasn't had any impact. Can someone offer any advice on what method I should be using to enter the value and then hit 'Enter'? As for the drop-down list, I've never worked with these in BP before and I don't know where to begin with it. I've tried using the HTML Combo Box Type, but to be honest, I'm not sure if I'm using it in the right manner. Can someone outline what I should be doing to capture a drop-down list and extract a value from it? Thanks, Richard
6 REPLIES 6

John__Carter
Staff
Staff
Hi Richard - you might need to ensure the field has focus before you send {ENTER}, it could be that the enter key is not 'hitting'. The write stage does not need to focus a field to work, and sometimes the app is not 'aware' that you have entered anything. Maybe try mouse click into the field, then write, then enter. You could also try using send keys for the value too. Failing that, global send key events is worth a try too.For a combobox you can use a read stage to get the current value or a collection of all items. To select use a navigate stage, and either provide the index of the item you want or the text of the item.

RichardLoughins
Level 4