cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Works in Object studio, but not when run

ZoltanBALINT1
Level 3
Hello team, I'm new to BluePrism development, and I'm facing a very bizarre issue.
I created a business object that interacts with a simple web application using Internet Explorer.
The app is supposed to be launched from the control room regularly, so it does not always log in and out; merely attaches to the open application; nothing special so far.

Except that it tends to work when I create the object in Object Studio, and it tends not to work when run from Process Studio and the IE interactions part NEVER works when ran from the control room.

Spying, highlighting basic things, like the URL bar of the work. The 'attach' operation works against the top level item in the application tree.
But then mostly nothing else works when the application wasn't launched but has been pre-existing, even though the process attached.

Most astonishingly, the basic 'Navigate' operation doesn't work after a successful 'Attach' operation, and it does test positively for a IsConnected test.

Highlighting tends to confirm the same. If I launched the app from the Object Studio app modeler, it highlights items. If I ran step by step the object, attached by activity, and then open the application modeler, then suddenly it cannot highlight the same thing that it has highlighted just a minute ago.

I have re-built the object from scratch just to avoid an object internal error that could have been caused by a paste operation. I have also tried every spying operation; tried also to navigate by sending Alt+D first then type URL; tried spying the address bar; NOTHING works when not run from the Object Studio.

We're on BP 6.5. 
Any suggestions/advice please?

------------------------------
Zoltan BALINT
7 REPLIES 7

JamesMan
Staff
Staff
Hello,
This is a common issue and the main culprit is that of execution speed.