cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Java Application - There was an error during the spying operation

stefan.hansen
Level 4
Hey everyone.

I am trying to open and Spy a Java application but when I try to Identify anything on the application I get this error:

There was an error during the spying operation.
System.InvalidOperationException: External AppMan reader thread exited before response from query
at BluePrism.AMI.clsAMI.Spy(clsElementTypeInfo& elementType, List`1& identifiers)
at AutomateUI.frmIntegrationAssistant.HandleSpyOrLaunchClick(Object sender, EventArgs e)

This is my first time trying to build a process for a Java based application. in the Application Wizard I located the .jar file, but when trying to Launch it nothing happens. Then I tried with the "Utility - Environment - Start Process" and using the .exe file and then Attach to it that all works, but when spying I get the above error after a few seconds.

If I set the application as a Windows Application in the Wizard and use the exe file, I can launch it but unable to spy any elements but the application window.

This is my setup:
Windows 10 64-bit - v. 20H2
Blue Prism version: 7.0.1.49890
Java: JRE 1.8.0_201 64-bit
Java Access Bridge installed with JRE and enabled in Ease of Access settings.

Any ideas?

------------------------------
Stefan Hansen
RPA Dev
Bestseller
Europe/Copenhagen
4 REPLIES 4

John__Carter
Staff
Staff
Hi Stephan

If the app is Java, then choosing Windows Application in the wizard will not work because the Java spy mode will not be enabled, and the other modes like Win32 and UIA will not work on a Java app.

It would be worth looking at how the application is launched from Windows - see if the shortcut properties contain any special parameters or switches like "C:\Program Files\My App\myapp.jar" /special-switch. It could be that you need to include these in the BP app manager to mimic way Windows launches the app.