cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Item to store and update variables across sessions

ManishRawat
Level 7

Is there a way in which we can store and update the Data Items present in BP across sessions? its more like an environment variable but to which we can make updates too.

This will help us in storing variables across sessions like flags, data which requires the value from the other session run that currently has to be stored in externally like in excel, notepads, etc.

------------------------------
Manish Rawat
Project Manager
Mercer
New Delhi

12 REPLIES 12

sumire
Level 8

Hello Manish,

I'm not very technical, so the two things I can think of are:

• stored in externally like in excel, text file, etc.
  • stored in queue

Mitsuko
Asia/Tokyo
Mitsuko
Asia/Tokyo

ritansh.jatwani
Level 9

Hi Manish,

In order to make changes to the variables across different sessions, you need to define those variables as "Session Variables". The session variables can be updated during the runtime of the processes for different sessions. You can view the option of making the variables as "Session variables" by setting the exposure of the variable as "Session".

Hope it answers your query !!

Ritansh Jatwani
Consultant
EY
Gurgaon

Hi Ritansh,

"Session variables" will work only till the session is active and is mainly used for controllers to make updates on the fly. For example if we define end time as session variable it can be changed by the controller while the process is running, Also they cannot be shared across sessions but are specific to each session run per BOT.

Here the Idea is to have a variable that stores its value even after the session of first BOT got over. Just as a simple example, steps below:

1. Flag variable Login required was set as "true", now BOT1 checks the status is "true" during its run and then, does the login task and then other tasks and then sets this value to "false".