cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I execute stored procedures in blue prism, changing Global Code of Data SQL Server Business Object??

Hello everyone, first of all, allow me to introduce myself. My name is Gonzalo Fernández and I started headquarters a year ago in the world of RPA. I am still a novice in these matters and my manager has asked me to do a task that I do not know how to do.

The topic at hand is how to run a stored procedure with input parameters (an indeterminate number of parameters). For example, I have created a stored procedure in SQL Server that has as input parameters: the color, the country and the cylinder capacity of a vehicle. This procedure performs a query on the Vehicles table, returning a table filtered by those parameters. Then I have also created a procedure that performs an insert in the Vehicles table. Then in Blue Prism I modified the Get Collection and Execute action of the Bussines Object: Data SQL Server. In this way I managed to do what they asked me to do. But it was not the correct signature as they wanted me to use only one action: Execute, to execute any stored procedure.

As you can see, the question is how to execute procedures regardless of whether they return a table or not, and that they can execute a query, an insert or a modification, but the important thing is that this procedure has input parameters.

For this reason, my manager has asked me to make a modification of the Business Object "Data -SQL server" and using the Execute action, modify in some way the Global Code of this Business Object to allow a stored procedure to have input parameters and return or not a table.

Attached images:

This is the table:
30657.png
First  stored procedure:
CREATE PROCEDURE Insertar_vehiculo_marca_pais_color_cilindrada
@id char(7),@marca varchar(40),@modelo varchar(40),@pais varchar(40),@color varchar(40), @cilindrada int
AS
Insert Into [Vehiculos] ([Id]
,[Marca]
,[Modelo]
,[Pais]
,[Color]