cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with getting data from Chrome using HTML

EwaTurowicz-Kwi
Level 4
I am a novice developer. I have encountered the following problem. The application field spied on in IE as an HTML element had the attributes Path -Dynamic and Enabled. I am currently working in Chrome. I spy in Browser Mode. The same application spy field returns the Web Path attributes but does not have the Enabled attribute. I cannot get the value from the given application field. However, empty lines are added to the collection, with no values that appear in the application. Due to the dynamically changing values, it seems to me that I can only download this data in HTML. The Read function has no Data Get current value but Get text, but takes an empty field instead of text. Have any of you encountered a similar problem or know how to solve it?

------------------------------
Ewa Turowicz-Kwiatkowska
15 REPLIES 15

Hi Ewa,

For Browser mode, as far as I know Enabled attribute is not available as it was available with IE mode. But using XPaths, you still can have expressions like:

'//textarea[not(@disabled)]' or '//textarea[@disabled]'

So here instead of textarea, you can supply the tag name which is associated with the element that you are trying to read. If you want to let say read elements which are not disabled then the first example would work and if you want to read elements which are disabled then the second example would work.

Also, on more way to read element values can be to get the source HTML of your web page by using read stage on your entire web page and use 'Get HTML' action:

28271.png
From here, you can try to parse the HTML using XML business object and get the desired node value as you want. If it is a collection then you need to loop through and add logic to determine the valid values from the parsed HTML string and insert the appropriate values in your collection.

----------------------------------