cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

C# code to run python script using arguments and get output into data item stage in object studio

VishalSalvankar
Level 2
Hi,

I am new to Blue Prism and I want to run a python script from coding stage using C# by passing arguments and storing its output in the data variable.

Please elaborate the code

Thanks in advance
- Vishal Salvankar

------------------------------
Vishal Salvankar
8 REPLIES 8

david.l.morris
Level 14
@ewilson wrote a great article on Code Stages and Python here: https://digitalexchange.blueprism.com/site/global/developer/code_stages/index.gsp

Dave Morris
3Ci @ Southern Company
Atlanta, GA
Dave Morris 3Ci at Southern Company Atlanta, GA

VishalSalvankar
Level 2
Hi,

I found the solution to call the python script using C# code

string result="";string result="";string ErrorMsg="";bool isError=true;try{ProcessStartInfo start = new ProcessStartInfo(); start.FileName = Python_Executable_File_Path; start.Arguments = Script_Path; start.UseShellExecute = false; start.RedirectStandardInput = true; start.RedirectStandardOutput = true; using(Process process = Process.Start(start)) { using (StreamWriter sw = process.StandardInput)     { sw.WriteLine(Input); sw.Close();     }
     using(StreamReader reader = process.StandardOutput)     {          result = reader.ReadToEnd();                } }  } catch (Exception exp) {    ErrorMsg=exp.Message;    isError=false;}
Exception=ErrorMsg;Success=isError;            ScriptOutput= result;

The above code needs to be used in the code stage in Object Studio.

The input and output parameters need to be given accordingly.

Do not forget to include namespaces in the Initialization page of the Object

Thanks

Vishal Salvankar

ewilson
Staff
Staff
Hi Vishal,